Skip to content

Making a Boy’s Bow Tie

May 31, 2013

IMG_3120A Lemon Squeezy Home has a great tutorial for making a boy’s bow tie that I tried this Spring.  I gave it a try so that my son would have something to match the handmade dress my mother-in-law made for my daughter for Easter.  It was very easy.

1) I cut my fabric into:

-Two 3” x 10” strips of fabric (for the bow)

-A long strip measuring 3” x 15” (to IMG_3117go around the neck)

-A little strip of fabric 2.5” x 4” (for the center of the bow)

I also cut a 3” x 10” piece of felt to make the inside fluffy, and got some circles of velcro for the strip that goes around the neck

2) After cutting everything, I took the long 3” x 15” strip and sewed it in half longways  (right sides together), then turned it right-side out, creating a IMG_3118tube that is about 1 1/4” x 15”

3) I did the same thing with the little 2.5” x 4” strip, sewing it in half longways, then turning it right-side out.  I pinned one of the open sides shut with the raw edge in, then sewed it shut by hand.

4) To make the bow part of the tie, I put the two 3”x10” strips with the right side of the fabric on the inside, and the felt on the outside.  I sewed the outside of three sides of this, with one short side still open so I could turn it right side out.  I pinned that open edge shut with the raw edge in, then sewed that shut by hand.

IMG_31225) Now that I had my three main pieces, I started to assemble the tie by sewing the small strip around the center of the bow piece.  I tucked the remaining raw edge of the little strip underneath the edge I had sewed by hand, at the back of the bow tie.  To make the pleats work (because the fabric was so thick, just the strip alone didn’t evenly make it into a bow), I sewed a few stitches horizontally across the bow part of the tie 1/3 and 2/3 of the way down the tie.

IMG_31246) All that was left was to pull the long strip through the little strip at the back of the bow tie, sew that into place so that the bow part won’t get crooked, and put a couple pieces of velcro on the back of each end of the long strip (tucking the raw edge in underneath the velcro).

My son actually has another tie that his aunt made him using a variation on this technique.  She didn’t sew the pleats into the bow tie, or the tie parts together, and it makes it easy for the bow tie to get crooked.  But I really like that she just skipped the felt altogether and just used fabric—my bow tie was way too thick.  All in all, a successful adventure!

IMG_3125IMG_3123

No comments yet

What do you think? (Your email is never published!)

