Skip to content

Making a T-Shirt Quilt

June 18, 2013
tags:

IMG_1934

I used to be a swimmer, and when I stopped swimming, I had an astonishing amount of swimming gear, and not very much use for a lot of it.  I decided to make it into a t-shirt quilt.

1) I cut out a large square from a piece of cardboard.

2) I put that cardboard square on each shirt over the area I wanted to use, and traced the outline and cut out the square.

3) I cut out a material of my choice into long 3” strips

4) I sewed the 3” strip on the top of a square, and then cut it flush with the end of the square,

5) Next I sewed the bottom of a new square to the strip on the top of the last square.

6) Then I sewed a 3” strip on the top of square #2, and cut it flush with the end of the square.

7) I repeated this until I had a row of six squares sewed together with the red strip in between, then I started at the bottom of a new column, until I had five columns with six squares each.

8) I sewed long strips of red on each side of each column, thereby sewing the columns together, and then added borders to the whole thing.

The whole thing was really easy.  The only problem that I ran into was that I made the quilt too big—I didn’t really want to display the quilt on my bed, but it was too big for any other purpose.  I ended up going back and removing a column and a row and the borders to make a smaller throw that fits better into my life.

No comments yet

What do you think? (Your email is never published!)

